Department News

Math Department congratulates 2021 Honors graduates and prize winners

The Department of Mathematics is pleased to recognize those of its majors who are being acknowledged in 2021 with departmental honors and prizes. 

Sixteen seniors are completing the extensive requirements for the Bachelor of Science degree, the largest number ever.   Ozan Acikgoz, Zachary Bar-David, Yin Chen, Lawrence Frolov, Xiaoxiao He, Nicholas C. McConnell, Debendro Mookerjee, and Olu Olorode are graduating with Highest Honors in Mathematics.  Christopher Brown, Brandon Gomes, Matthew Issac, Mingyang Ma, Thomas Murrills, and Xiang Yao are graduating with High Honors in Mathematics, and Adriana Scanteianu and Stephanie D. Zhou are graduating with Honors in Mathematics.

Ten additional seniors are graduating with Honors in Mathematics:  Timon A. Dauser, Noah Green, Stephen Greenberg, Zaynab Khan, Tianyi Luo, Daniel C. Wang, Michael S. Wang, Michael Wu, Danni Xu, and Yongqi Zhou.

Eight senior prizes are being awarded, five by the Department and four on the recommendation of the Department:

  • Nicholas C. McConnell, the Kenneth and Rosalind Wolfson Annual Award for Academic Excellence in Mathematics;
  • Ozan Acikgoz, the Joseph P. Bradley Memorial Prize in Mathematics;
  • Olu Olorode, the Lawrence Corwin Memorial Math Prize;
  • Benjamin Cardwell, the Mathematics Education Prize;
  • Adriana Scanteianu, the Hannah Hoyt Prize;
  • Nikita Sachdeva, the Richard Morris Award;
  • Danni Xu, the Pi Mu Epsilon Prize;
  • Olu Olorode, the Jacqueline B. Lewis Award.

Four additional prizes are awarded to students before their senior year, three by the Department and one on the recommendation of the Department:

  • Anna Antal,the John Bogart Prize;
  • Colin Fan, the Tilla Weinstein Award;
  • George Tsoukalas, the David Martin Weiss Memorial Award;
  • Grace Finlayson, the Katharine Hazard Prize.